PhD Award: Call for Applications

The deadline to apply for the CAiSE PhD Award 2023 is April 30 March 31, 2023. The conditions to apply are:

  • having participated as an author in a previous CAiSE Doctoral Consortium or at a main CAiSE-event (Main conference, Forum, EMMSAD, or BPMDS)
  • having successfully defended the PhD thesis in the two last years.

The application must be made electronically by the stated deadline via the EasyChair conference system[JK1]  with:

  • a copy of the defended PhD thesis,
  • a support letter from the thesis advisor,
  • the CV of the candidate.

About the PhD Award

The CAiSE PhD Award 2023 will be granted to an outstanding PhD thesis in the field of Information Systems Engineering.

The award, co-sponsored by the CAiSE Steering Committee and Springer, consists of a certificate, free full registration (5 days) to the next two editions of the CAiSE conference, as well as a book voucher for a free selection worth EUR 500 from Springer’s printed books collection. In addition, the selected thesis will be recommended for publication as a monograph in the LNBIP series published by Springer, provided that Springer’s publication conditions are met.

The PhD thesis submitted for the award will be reviewed by a standing committee composed of selected members of the CAiSE Advisory Committee, the CAiSE Steering Committee and the CAiSE Program Committee.

Award Chair

  • John Krogstie, NTNU, Trondheim, Norway
  • Camille Salinesi, Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, France

Key Dates
Submission of application:30th April 31st March 2023
Notification:15th May 1st May 2023

Dates are Anywhere on Earth (AoE)

Previous awardees

  • 2022:  Volodymyr Leno, PhD from University of Melbourne (Australia) (co-tutelle),   thesis title  “Robotic Process Mining: Accelerating the adoption of Robotic Process Automation” (link to the thesis
  • 2021: Orlenys Lopez Pintado, PhD from University of Tartu (Estonia), thesis title “Collaborative Business Process Execution on the Block Chain: the Caterpillar System” (link to the thesis
  • 2020: Steven Mertens, PhD from Ghent University (Belgium), thesis title “Enabling process management for loosely framed knowledge-intensive processes” (link to the published monograph)
  • 2019: Giovanni Meroni, PhD from Politecnico di Milano (Italy), thesis title “Artifact-driven business process monitoring” (link to the published monograph)
  • 2018: Wei Wang, PhD from University of Queensland (Australia) thesis title “Integrated Modeling of Business Processes and Business Rules” (link to the published monograph)
  • 2017: Marcela Ruiz, PhD from the Universidad Politécnica de Valencia (Spain), thesis title “TraceME: A Traceability-Based Method for Conceptual Model Evolution” (link to the published monograph)
  • 2016: Le Minh Sang Tran, PhD from University of Trento (Italy), thesis title “Managing the Uncertainty of the Evolution of Requirements Models” (Testimony of the 2016 CAiSE PhD Award winner)